Major Cricket Events

The Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of men's One Day International (ODI) cricket.

The event is organized by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years.

The tournament is the world's fourth largest and most viewed sporting event.

Test Matches are another major cricket event. Test Cricket is widely regarded as the highest standard of first-class cricket.

A Test match is an international fixture between teams representing those countries that are Full Members of the ICC.

Test matches between two teams are usually played in a group of matches called a "series". Matches last up to five days and a series normally consists of three to five matches. Test matches that are not finished within the allotted time are drawn.

Since 1882, most Test series between England and Australia have been played for a trophy known as The Ashes.

Some other series have individual trophies too:

  • the Wisden Trophy is contested by England and West Indies
  • the Frank Worrell Trophy is contested Australia and West Indies

View live Cricket betting odds now!