Netball has the highest level of participation of any sport in Australia. It rivals cricket, soccer and Australian football for the highest number of participants of any team sport in the country. The game is governed by Netball Australia at the national level, which is responsible for the national team and national competition.

The Australian national Netball team, along with traditional rivals New Zealand's Silver Ferns, dominate the game in the international level.

The main international competitions are the Netball World Championships and Commonwealth Games, where Australia won the World Crown in 2007.

At the domestic level, elite players previously competed for the now defunct Commonwealth Bank Trophy.

Meanwhile, Indoor Netball is a fast growing variation of the game, with modified rules. It is popular amongst both men and women with mixed competitions also conducted. A world championship in indoor netball was held in 2001.

In 2008, the ANZ Championship started, consisting of five teams from Australia and New Zealand. The Australian Teams are Melbourne Vixens, West Coast Fever, NSW Swifts, Adelaide Thunderbirds and Queensland Firebirds.

The NSW Swifts won the ANZ Championship in 2008, and the Vixens won the championship in 2009, with the Vixens becoming known as "The best netball team in the world".

Here are more Netball related articles: